You are here: Hotels > Turkey > Altinkum
 
  Hotels     Travel Guide  

Orion Beach Reviews


Orion Beach in Altinkum

 Yali Caddesi, Altinkum, Turkey

diytravel.co.uk unbiased hotel reviews and unique Question & Answer system will help you to decide whether Orion Beach is the right Altinkum accommodation for your holidays. If you are happy with the hotel reviews, make an online hotel reservation. If you are undecided, read more Altinkum hotel reviews.

 
 
 


Overall Community Rating:

8.3 (based on 10 user reviews)

Orion Beach: Thats the best deal in the area by Neil Senol
Posted 20 September 2012 about a visit in May 2011Overall rating: 10.0
Ratings
Dining  10
Location  10
Cleanliness  10
Service  10
Rooms  10
Value  10
Facilities  10

Trip was for:
Couple
Holiday

Visit again?
Definitely

I can't say enough about this Hotel. The best location, best price, best service. They have given us a ocean front room for the same price as others. Staff is so friendly, food is excellent and free? Yes actually included in price are open buffet breakfast and dinner. We have given over $100 in tips since we felt that it was fair after all such a quality service, location and unbeatable meals.

This review is the opinion of a diytravel.co.uk user and not of diytravel.co.uk.
0 of 0 users found this review helpful. Did this review help you?


Orion Beach: FANTASTIC YET AGAIN! by Becky Werrett
Posted 08 September 2005 about a visit in May 2005Overall rating: 10.0
Ratings
Dining  10
Location  10
Cleanliness  10
Service  10

I'm 22yrs old and writing on behalf of my family of 13 I travelled with, age ranging from 2yrs to 51yrs, including a 10yr old disabled child. We can not fault the Orion in anyway, it was our 2nd visit to Orion and 3rd visit to Altinkum. From the minute you arrive at the hotel til the minute you leave, the staff can't do enough for you. From the warm, smiling faces of Lutfi and Mahammet who are on reception 24/7, to the smiling faces of all the waiters/bar men (Tunjay, Erdal, Ufuk, Ardan, Mustafa)...We knew most of the staff from our visit last year but there were a few additional ones who joined in and made the holiday a happy one. All of our needs were catered for - regardless of the wide variety of ages we were with! The rooms were superb (yet again!) Not only spacious and clean but we were all situated not too far from each other which was good suprising we had 5 rooms between us! The maids cleaned the room everyday without fail, even if you didn't leave your room until 1pm!! They knocked the door and if you were sleeping, they just quietly closed it again and then came back when they seen you leave. Staff were always happy and with a great smile, no matter what unearthly hour of the morning we arrived in, some mornings were 4/5am and they'd still serve all 13 of us a night cap and be up for a game of pool with the men from our party! Food was great, I'm a vegetarian and although they don't have a great deal of hot, cooked food which doesn't include meat, the cold food is outstanding and would fill you up for days! The breakfast is of Turkish style which is ok, but none of us made it down for it more than twice in the 2 weeks....you can buy an English breakfast for about 2. The chef works all day and is at hand no matter what time you want to eat. The beach infront the hotel is good, the sea is a little stoney at first, but once you are over the first bit, it is lovely and sandy and you can go out for ages before you become out of your depth.
Altinkum is definately a great place, with it's quiet little side streets and it's pumping bars in the centre....no matter what age you are, as long as you go on holiday to have fun and let yourself go, then this is the place to be at!! Lots of karaoke bars run right through....and Dolphin square is a superb place to visit! The golden, sandy beaches and lovely sandy sea...the buzzing nightlife is wonderful - the brochure's couldn't describe it any better!
4 of us have just been back to Altinkum (beginning of Sept) but at a different hotel as Orion fully booked, but we used the Orion alot for drinks etc and yet again the staff were brilliant and the cleanliness astounding. If you're booked to come to Orion - take it from me - you will have the time of your live in Paradise!!

This review is the opinion of a diytravel.co.uk user and not of diytravel.co.uk.
1 of 2 users found this review helpful. Did this review help you?


Orion Beach: What a fantastic holiday by Terresa Evans
Posted 07 September 2005 about a visit in July 2005Overall rating: 10.0
Ratings
Dining  10
Location  10
Cleanliness  10
Service  10

My family and I stayed at the Orion Hotel this summer and had a fantastic time.The staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help at all times. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the food was second to none. The rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and there is night time activities every evening. What a joy to wake up to that view of the ocean every morning. The hotel is situated within walking distance to all shops and bars and is literally on the beach front. A holiday I would definitely recomend.

This review is the opinion of a diytravel.co.uk user and not of diytravel.co.uk.
0 of 0 users found this review helpful. Did this review help you?


Orion Beach: BRILLIANT by Lisa Christer
Posted 30 August 2005 about a visit in July 2005Overall rating: 9.3
Ratings
Dining  7
Location  10
Cleanliness  10
Service  10

Just came back from this hotel and was very impressed. Like the brochure states it is right on the beach and is ideal as the weather in Turkey is so hot that you dont have to walk far with children and bags etc from the beach into the shade of your hotel. The hotel is lovely and clean and ALL staff are really friendly say hi to Punji and BB and every one else, there is so many to mention. The chefs really went out of their way to give you beautiful evening meals though after the first week of eating it does start to become rather boring. Food more to childrens taste should also be offered. The pool wasnt huge but a lovely size so that you could lie on sunbeds and still keep a check on your childrens safety. Unlike alot of hotel pools in Turkey the Orion pool has a shallow end clearly marked out and is kept clean all of the time. We had a room for 4 (one bed was a camp bed) the room had loads of space and was also immaculate. A fridge can be hired from reception. Air con was 3 per day also but was well worth it. The children were kept occupied with 2 pool tables, table tennis and darts etc. Various childrens entertainment was put on but to be honest I didnt rate it much though the younger children seemed to enjoy it. We also found it much cheaper to have day time snacks in the hotel and outside eateries can be much more expensive than they used to be. I would buy bottled water, pop etc from just outside the hotel on the beach from as you could get 2 bottles of water for the price they charged for one and a large bottle of Fanta was the same price as a small bottle in the hotel, ask the shop for plastic cups though. The only problem with this hotel is the noise that carries from the loud karaoke pubs across the road at the back as they go on after 2 am! You can either join them or put up with noise we joined them as the evening meal times were between 8 and 10 anyway so by the time you had finished the night was still young, for people with very young children though this could be a problem. The Orion uses a card system, you get the card at the start of your holiday and put x amount of money on it and everything that you purchase is paid for using the card. If the card runs out of money you go to reception to put more on or the service staff will do this for you. A receipt is given after every purchase telling you how much you have left on it. At first this can be a bit of a pain but you soon get used to it and it is easier than having to carry cash around all of the time.

This review is the opinion of a diytravel.co.uk user and not of diytravel.co.uk.
0 of 0 users found this review helpful. Did this review help you?


Orion Beach: No go! by Lisa loves turkey
Posted 24 August 2005 about a visit in July 2004Overall rating: 3.8
Ratings
Dining  1
Location  10
Cleanliness  2
Service  2

We went to the Orion hotel last year. Don't get me wrong, it was a nice hotel- me and my Sis stayed in a room of our own and my Mum, Stepdad, Sis and little Brother stayed in the family room: that is no place for a family! My little brother, who was 8 years old at the time wanted to sleep around 1 o clock in the morning, but finally fell asleep about 3, because of the noise coming from other bars and resturants- not naming any (the British pub).

My mother complained several times but nothing was done until 3 days before departure she was moved to a 2 bedded apartment which was unbeliveably cramped.

The food was not that great as we booked half board. The breakfast was egg egg and even more egg. As this is a turkish hotel they offered turkish food which didnt look very apitising for my little brother and sister we spent around 20 pound eating eating out every night and 15 pound eating out every morning.

Some of the staff were very friendly but one member of staff kicked a kitten in the head, which for an animal lover was very sickening. Me and my sister love the bars we returned to bed about 3 am every morning and at 8 am we were woken up by the maids sitting outside our door having a mothers meeting and not considering families at this time as you would have to step over them with you lilo in one hand and your towel in the other with a hangover which was bad.

Dont get me wrong the hotel was nice situated near all the bars and resturants which was great. The rooms were cleaned nearly every day and towels were changed twice a week as in the brochure it says all rooms with a sea view i dont think so when we woke up every morning we saw an old fat man sitting on the seabird balcany which put us of our breakfast. As for sky tv we had bbc asia news and the airconditioning was complete crap. Expensive and never worked that should come with the price we paid 570 pounds each and 56 pounds for air conditiong. I would recommend that if you dont have any young children and you love turkish food and dont mind getting up at 8 am and hate cats.

This review is the opinion of a diytravel.co.uk user and not of diytravel.co.uk.
2 of 3 users found this review helpful. Did this review help you?


Orion Beach: our 5th visit to this hotel. by Allison Daniel
Posted 03 August 2005 about a visit in June 2005Overall rating: 7.8
Ratings
Dining  4
Location  10
Cleanliness  10
Service  7


the orion chefs waiting to serve you.



HEAD CHEF MIXING WITH GUESTS.


We stayed in the orion in may then again june and will be going back in october,we love the location of the hotel,right on the beach,and very handy for the bars etc at the top end of altinkum,this year the waiters were a different and not as friendly bunch of lads,the head waiter had some sort of grudge with one of the waiters and was persistantly infront of customers on his back,there were some twins who were waiters,one of them being quietly friendly and the other being totally "in your face" The reception lads were as friendly and helpful as ever, food not bad,lots of local dishes and being served by the chefs who had cooked it,all looking very smart,serving with a smile.
Just returned from a wo week break in the orion, staff as friendly as ever,so willing to help you,so wanting to learn a bit more english,boys your all great,food gone down hill a bit this year, desserts not replenished when original all gone,bit dissapointing. lunch time meals great value for money. stayed again may 2005 for two weeks was the first two weeks of the season so took a while to get going,some of the staff a little too much "in your face" wanting to be helpful but coming across as desperate to make a good impression, food ok again lots of different dishes to choose from, nice to see the b-b-q going outside again. Could do with updating the evening entertainment-a little repetative from years gone by.
very dissapointed.....booked this hotel direct only to find when we arrived 3am in morning that we had not even been booked in and no rooms avaliable at all,tried to transfer us to sister hotle in dolphin square but i refused as i dont like to stay that end of town, never had this happen before but over the week staying in different hotel found out its happened to many before us,not sure we shall use this hotel ever again??

This review is the opinion of a diytravel.co.uk user and not of diytravel.co.uk.
2 of 2 users found this review helpful. Did this review help you?


Orion Beach: Excellent by Tony Lawson
Posted 16 January 2005 about a visit in April 2004Overall rating: 9.5
Ratings
Dining  8
Location  10
Cleanliness  10
Service  10

This is our second year at the orion, and i must say that we enjoyed both stays. The hotel is clean and the staff are very helpful. We have got to know the staff and found them real nice people, However, we did find the food got a little boring by the second week and we were alittle concerned about the food not being very hot. and i was sick of sharing my food with the mozzies.
The view was second to none and we felt that we were central to most activities. It is well worth a stay in our opinion. (46, 44.)

This review is the opinion of a diytravel.co.uk user and not of diytravel.co.uk.
1 of 1 users found this review helpful. Did this review help you?


Orion Beach: Love it!! by Tink
Posted 03 December 2004 about a visit in September 2004Overall rating: 8.0
Ratings
Dining  6
Location  8
Cleanliness  8
Service  10




Have been staying here since 2001 and the Orion is one of the best hotels around! Is allways very clean and allways has friendly staff-with the exception of june this year! Entertainment is allways good, and the food is usually lovely-although can produce some strange looking meat sometimes!
Enjoy staying here, and staff-including the reception staff have all been brilliant this year! Continueing from the previous years! Would recomend it to somone who likes being around lots of bars-as you can step out of the orion and go streight in to a bar! Although for people wanting to go with children-if you ask for a sea view-with a room at the back of the hotel-you cant hear anything apart form the sea!
Love the hotel, love the staff and will contine to be staying here for many years-unless i morve over there!:)
Cant wait for May as will be going for two weeks instead of one!will be ace!:)

This review is the opinion of a diytravel.co.uk user and not of diytravel.co.uk.
4 of 4 users found this review helpful. Did this review help you?


Orion Beach: A Bit Dissapointing by Bob Hibbert
Posted 23 July 2004 about a visit in June 2004Overall rating: 5.5
Ratings
Dining  4
Location  10
Cleanliness  6
Service  2

Friends stayed at the Orion in 2003 while we stayed at the Atac. Visited the Orion a number of times to see them and thought it looked good. So we all booked up again for 2004 on the basis of last year. We were all disappointed. The waiters seemed very demoralised due to a new card pre-payment system for buying drinks etc. resulting in them getting less tips. Many of the waiters were surly and sometimes obnoxious. One snatching personal photos out of friend's hands resulting in them ending up on the floor. Another questioned my wive's religious beliefs quite forcibly because she was wearing a crucifix on a chain (what's it got to do with him?) and they were indiscriminately pushing people into the pool including a 7 year old girl who couldn't swim who had to be dragged out in tears. The card system was also abused with drinks being put on peoples cards that they had not had.

Food was good some days, indifferent on others and bad on others. Hygiene was lacking particularly around the pool snack bar.

Next time we'll be going back to the Atac.

This review is the opinion of a diytravel.co.uk user and not of diytravel.co.uk.
0 of 0 users found this review helpful. Did this review help you?


Orion Beach: ITS GOOD by Stocky
Posted 20 April 2002Overall rating: 9.5
Ratings
Dining  8
Location  10
Cleanliness  10
Service  10

The Orion is a basic Turkish Hotel, food Ok and rooms very clean and spacious. The location is A1 (straight onto the Beach) and the staff were brilliant. We visited in October 2001 when it was very quiet. However the nightlife can be very lively and Karaoke tends not to finish until about 3 am (drink local Brandy to help you sleep or join in). The family rooms overlook the main road (as well as a side seaview) which can be a bit of a pain with the Karaoke Bars. Eating out out - you are spoilt for choice. EXCELLENT PLACE TO VISIT

This review is the opinion of a diytravel.co.uk user and not of diytravel.co.uk.
1 of 1 users found this review helpful. Did this review help you?



 


 

Orion Beach Questions

Have you got a question about Orion Beach that you want answered before you book online? If our reviews do not contain the information that you need, ask a question and let other visitors tell you the real story!



Orion Beach: Location
29 Sep 2009 by Susan Taylorson
Does anyone know if the Orion Beach Hotel is close to the Hera Apart Hotel
>> Answer this question


Orion Beach: Late Night meal
12 Feb 2009 by Lynne Lynne
We don't land till 1am, then have a 90 minute drive to the hotel. Will there be anywhere to get some food at 3 in the morning? (In March)
>> Answer this question


Questions and answers are provided by diytravel.co.uk users and do not represent the opinions of diytravel.co.uk.



Site Map

diytravel.co.uk is a secure accommodation booking site with hotel and holiday reservations backed up by real consumer reviews.
© All information related to Orion Beach Reviews may not be reproduced without permission.